Databases

Limit by Subject
ABCmouse.com Early Learning Academy logo

ABC Mouse

Check out ABC Mouse for award-winning educational games, puzzles, books and other fun interactive learning activities for kids age 2 to 6. It’s free to use in the Ames Public Library! In Library Use Only

Visit resource website
Academic OneFile from Gale logo

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile offers access to millions of peer-reviewed, full text articles for a variety of academic subjects.

Visit resource website
Ancestry Library Edition banner

Ancestry Library Edition

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry Library, one of the most important genealogical collections available today with unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom. Its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest Online. In Library Use Only

Visit resource website
Brainfuse logo

Brainfuse Help Now

Stuck on a tough homework assignment? Need writing assistance for that class paper? Want someone to proof read a rough draft? Upload it in the writing lab and their experts will get back to you within 24 hours. Brainfuse offers virtual live tutoring, study groups, flashcards, and can even help create a study plan. There are even resources for lifelong learners, too. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Bridges logo

Bridges

Browse, borrow, and enjoy e-audiobooks, e-books, and videos on your computer or tablet. 

Visit resource website
Chilton Library logo

Chilton Library

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs. Chilton Library has maintenance and spec tables, step by step service and repair procedures, a labor estimating tool, diagrams, illustrations, and photos for a wide range of vehicles. You can even prep for the ASE test and certification exams. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Consumer Reports logo

ConsumerReports.org

Have a major purchase coming up? Feel confident in your decisions after using ConsumerReports.org to check reviews, recommendations, and ratings for everything from food and baby products to cars.

Visit resource website
Digital Learn logo

Digital Learn

If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, this site has the tools to help tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Educator's Reference Complete logo

Educator’s Reference Complete

This database is a great resource for educators interested in research on topics such as administration, bilingual education, child development, funding, technology, testing, and more through scholarly journals, reports, and educational references.

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Farwell T. Brown Photographic Archive button graphic

Farwell T. Brown Photographic Archive

The images in this unique photo archive are from Farwell T. Brown’s lifetime collection of original photographs, postcards, advertisements, and news articles which chronicle the history of Ames, Iowa. The dates of the photographs range from the 1860s through the 1990s, with the majority from the 1900s through the 1930s. 

Visit resource website
WorldCat Services logo

FirstSearch Online Database

FirstSearch is a great place to start if you're looking for a specific book or for full-text articles. You can search for books and e-books at libraries across the world and access millions of full-text, full-image articles from thousands of serials.

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
GCF Learn Free.org logo

GCF LearnFree

If you need a quick brush up on your Microsoft Office or other technology skills GCF LearnFree is the place to start. Check out their more than 125 self-paced tutorials for math, career, reading, every day life skills, and more. 

Visit resource website
Health and Wellness Resource Center logo

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Check out Health and Wellness Resource Center to find information on a whole host of topics from nutrition, diseases, public health, pregnancy, herbal remedies, and more. There’s access to alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, and over 700 videos. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Health Reference Center: Academic logo

Health Reference Center Academic

Health Reference Center Academic gives you access to medical and professional journals, health and fitness magazines, reference books, and pamphlets on a variety of nursing and allied health topics, perfect for professional research. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
HeritageQuest logo

Heritage Quest Online

Find ancestors and relatives in the complete set of the U.S. Federal Census Records from 1790-1930. Also find information on people and places in over 25,000 family and local histories.

Visit resource website
hoopla logo

Hoopla

Download e-audiobooks, graphic novels, e-books, movies, music, and television, all with no holds queue.

Visit resource website
Kanopy logo

Kanopy

Stream or download over 30,000 of the world’s best films, including award-winning documentaries, rare and hard-to-find titles, film festival favorites, indie and classic films, and world cinema.

Visit resource website
Khan Academy logo

Khan Academy

Khan Academy's mission is to provide free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere, and they’ve partnered with institutions like NASA and the Museum of Modern Art to do so. Create an account and you'll have access to videos, exercises, and your own learning dashboard as you study at your own pace. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Learning Express Library logo

Learning Express

Your one stop test prep shop to help you get ready for the ACT, SAT, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, PCAT, AP exams, or GED. Learning Express even has study guides for the US citizenship test and occupational tests like firefighting, law enforcement, or commercial driver’s license. There’s a career center with interview and job searching tips, a section for improving computer skills and software (like Microsoft Office) training, and subject specific help.

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Little Pim logo

Little Pim

Little Pim is the fun, easy way for kids ages 0-6 to learn a new language. Come explore with Little Pim, the adorable cartoon panda, as you discover a new language! To access Little Pim log in and select 'KIDS' under the 72 Languages header.

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
NoveList Logo

Novelist Plus

NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Reference USA logo

ReferenceUSA

Lost your great-aunt's address and need to write her a thank you for that doily she knit you? Looking for an internship? Wondering how many businesses in Iowa have the word Cyclone in their name? ReferenceUSA can help answer those questions and more! 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Transparent Language Online logo

Transparent Language

Express yourself in over 100 languages, from Afrikaans to Zulu, with Transparent Language, the scientifically proven method to learning a new language. Flexible learning paths allow you to choose your own adventure in an easy to use interface. Touchscreen friendly with mobile apps for language learning on the go! 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Tumble Book Library logo

TumbleBookLibrary

Want a fun, 21st century alternative to print picture books? TumbleBookLibrary has a great interactive collection of stories with sound, music, animation, and narration. Have your favorite book read as you follow along and enjoy the story. Be sure to check out their book of the day!

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource
Value Line logo

Value Line Investment Survey

The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market, and the economy. It contains information on 8,000 stocks, 13,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities. 

Visit internal library resource Visit external library resource